friends and family

Sitting on the couch in Guatemala right now, I’m feeling the need to write.

I don’t really know where this will go.

I’ve been thinking a lot about vulnerability recently. I guess it’s something I’m always thinking about, or trying not to. Given that I’m currently in a whole new living situation with people I really don’t know, I find myself craving vulnerability. I also find myself seeking it, not here, but with old friends. I’m constantly emailing and texting my dear friends from home…because as much as people don’t belong to you– sometimes they do. I don’t know how or when it happened with my friends & I, but somehow we all started belonging to one another. Maybe it’s a phenomenon that happens when you’re twenty-something and single.

Regardless of the reasons, I want this realness and honesty all of the time. Maybe it’s because I’m in a different country. Maybe absence does make the heart grow fonder. Or maybe I’ve just realized that what I have with my friends, doesn’t grow on trees… or in random groups in Guatemala.

I am so blessed to have the friends I do. Friends without superiority complexes. Friends that text me at random hours. Friends that I can text and whine to when I’m sick. Friends I call when I’m lonely. Friends that call me when they’re lonely. Friends I can send gigantic emails to. Friends who send me e-cards when I’m sick. Friends who send me movie recommendations! Friends that encourage me when I seriously think that I’m going to go crazy and moving here was the worst life decision. Friends who stay up talking with me ’cause I’m having a mental breakdown. Friends who make scrapbooks for me of our friendship and our spirit animal/TV alter egos. ;] I am so incredibly blessed and thankful to have them in my life.

And of course, I can’t leave out my family. My family has been so supportive and encouraging. They’ve sent me wonderful, incredible packages and text me everyday. They are so encouraging and listen to be complain about things like bedbugs, and the flu. I am so grateful for them as well.

So here’s a shout out to: Mom, Dad, Stephen, Morgan, Andy, Jordan, Crystal, Andrew, Kevin, & Pip! Even if you don’t realize it, you all have been really incredible and have encouraged me in so many different ways, and I am so glad to have you in my life. I love you all so so so much and miss you dearly.

Proverbs 27:17: As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.

John 15:12-13: My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.  

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12: Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:  If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!  Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone?  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

