the undermined presence

Sometimes I get angry. I get angry because I cannot compete with technology. I cannot compete with that text you just got, or the guy that just followed you, or the video that was just posted. It all happens in an instant; a blink of an eye, and boom your attention is gone. Just like that. I just want to scream: I AM HERE. I AM RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. But no, you wouldn’t hear me over the roar of your tweets and the deluge of your “friends”. And after I get angry I get worried… because if I can’t maintain your attention for two minutes while we’re talking on the street corner, how am I ever supposed to maintain someone’s for a lifetime? This digital connectivity is killing our relation-ality. And you don’t even blink…

Leave a Reply

