a remedy

Today is the final day of the #FemFest discussion. The last two days have been very informative and eye-opening for me. Initially, I wasn’t even going to contribute to this discussion, as I told my roommate on Tuesday morning: I’m just too naïve to even bother saying anything. But after about an hour of reading over eight blogs, I had a fire lit under to me to voice my thoughts and understandings, despite my naïveté.

So, I have learned a lot over the last couple of days.

  • I have learned that the “equal, but not the same” argument seems to make everyone angry very quickly.
  • I have learned that even talking about the idea of feminism really seems to make some Christians uncomfortable.
  • I have learned that not all feminists burn their bras.
  • I have learned that even those that do, aren’t going to hell.
  • I have learned that I don’t have to hate men to associate with feminism.
  • I have learned that I don’t have to agree with every movement of feminism to agree with it as a whole.
  • I have learned that secular feminists are not “doing it wrong”, despite our differing belief systems. 
  • I have learned that I’m not the only one who is enraged when Beyoncé says “girls run the world”.
  • I have learned that Christian feminists do not build their arguments on purely emotional rhetoric.
  • I have learned that blogging takes a significant amount of time– specifically when I really cared about the issues.
  • I have learned that even my conservative thoughts have been affirmed and encouraged by the rest of the blogging community.
  • I have learned that if I want conservative, Christian males to question my salvation all I have to do is say that “I’m a  feminist”.
  • I have learned that many commentators forget to “put on their thinking cap” before commenting.
  • I have learned that feminism isn’t just about equality in women’s rights.
  • I have learned that feminism is not synonymous with egalitarianism.
  • I have learned that men are feminists too.
  • I have learned that people who comment anonymously don’t deserve to have their comment read.
  • I have learned that this community that self-identifies as feminist are very encouraging and challenging to each other.
  • I have learned that the Church needs to get feminism right if we want to continue to do fruitful ministry.
  • I have learned that feminism may seem reactionary, but ultimately is worthwhile and getting a lot of things right.
  • I have learned that feminism is succeeding at validating and acknowledging hurts that often been inflicted by well-meaning Christians.
  • But, ultimately I have learned that as a Christian, I don’t need to be afraid of the word feminism.

Now, these may all seem like a no-brainer to most seasoned feminists/bloggers. Honestly, I would have guessed most of these things to be true, but this was the week that I saw all of them played out. The biggest thing I have appreciated about this week has been that all of these blogs have better equipped me to think for myself and defend my beliefs.

I can be a strong, independent woman. 

I can hold my beliefs in submission and surrender to the Cross. 

And I can say feminism is the not the enemy. Sin is and will always be the enemy, and feminism has been and will continue to be a remedy that I can support!

——–

This blog is in response to the #femfest synchroblog on Day #3 with Preston Yancey’s blog, seeprestonblog.com. Link up and answer these questions: What surprised you this week? What did you take away from the discussion? What blog posts did you find particularly helpful? What questions do you still have?

Feminisms-Fest-Badge

6 thoughts on “a remedy

  1. Andy Albers says:

    “I have learned that if I want conservative, Christian males to question my salvation all I have to do is say that ‘I’m a feminist’.”

    Please don’t lump us all together just as I don’t lump all “feminists” together. I am a conservative Christian male and I don’t question your salvation. I don’t agree with everything you have posted but I have never and will never question your salvation for these reasons.

    • rachkrogers says:

      That is a fair comment, Andy. I did lump all Christian, conservative males together. I do apologize, as I don’t normally do that– nor do I think in such entirely one-sided terms. I wrote that, because more often then not, that has been my experience. You are definitely an exception to that. I greatly appreciate that you don’t question my salvation though, despite differences in opinions or beliefs. :]

      • Andy Albers says:

        You are very welcome! We need all sorts of different beliefs and people in the church. As long as they don’t contradict Jesus of course 🙂

  2. Esther Emery (@EstherEmery) says:

    I’m so glad you say you don’t have to be afraid…of the word feminism. I think God doesn’t want us to live in fear. And, oh yes, about blogging taking a significant amount of time! I’m glad you took the time, though. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts.

  3. Jessi says:

    Love it….clear, concise…and I would echo, I too learned many of the same things. Thanks for investing your time…because yes, it is definitely a big investment when it’s something you actually care about!

Leave a Reply

