flinging it all out on him

Over the last week or so, I’ve been reading through My Utmost for His Highest. I had read bits of it before, but not too much. Yesterday one post really spoke into my life. It was something I had kinda been questioning and trying to deal with, and Oswald Chambers really spoke to the heart of the matter in this entry. He writes about Matthew 14:28-30 where Peter begins to walk on water but then doubts. He writes:

We step right out on God over some things, then self-consideration enters in and down we go. I you are recognizing your Lord, you have no business with where He engineers your circumstances. The actual things are, but immediately you look at them you are overwhelmed, you cannot recognize Jesus, and the rebuke comes: “Wherefore didst thou doubt?” Let actual circumstances be what they may, keep recognizing Jesus, maintain complete reliance on Him. If you debate for a second when God has spoken, it is all up. Never being to say- “Well, I wonder if He did speak?” Be reckless immediately, fling it all out on Him. You do not know when His voice will come, but whenever the realization of God comes in the faintest way imaginable, recklessly abandon. It is only by abandon that you recognize Him. You will only realize is voice more clearly by recklessness.

This was a huge confirmation for me. I can be confident that when God has spoken to me, He has done it. I don’t need to question it. I need to trust that He will lead me. There’s no rush. I can wait for His voice. If He’s led me this far, then He will continue to lead me. And I don’t need to worry about it. If I am recklessly abandoning myself to His leading, then it will come. My actual circumstances or fears should have no place in my mind. I must trust Him enough to “fling it all out on Him.”

Leave a Reply

